I am very grateful today that we don’t have cable and I don’t have to be inundated with the analysis of John Edwards’ dalliance all weekend.

I have to say that when I heard about it, I felt sad. Not quite as sad as when the whole Clinton/Lewinsky business went down, I guess because I’ve been disappointed before and am used to it. But I bought into John and Elizabeth’s love story. Who doesn’t love a good love story? Falling in love in law school, marrying young, scraping by in the beginning, supporting each other through good times and bad. But, in the end, I guess he’s human and flawed just like anybody else. I do hope Elizabeth gave him hell about it, though.

My larger concern is why Americans give such a crap. I mean, really, do you want to be scrutinized? What would we find if your life became the Truman Show? Americans are way to hung up about sex anyway, and I guess this stems from our Puritan origins. But leave it alone already. Because the next big scandal that we can’t tear our eyes from … could be you.

